Posted by: biogal36 | January 22, 2009

No News is Good News

I am so not a political person.  I follow politics like I follow the news, I don’t.  The news that I know about, I found out on Yahoo or someone else told me about.  I don’t subscribe to a newspaper and I don’t watch the news,  I stopped after 9/11.  I realized that so much of the news is negative.  Local news is about homicides and other crimes.  National news is about illegal acts by politicians or business men.  And world news is about fighting or bombings in some foreign country.  It’s not that this information isn’t important it is because we all live in this world together, but I don’t like to be bombarded by negativity.  No wonder so many people suffer from depression in this country.    Now even commercials have taken on a depressing tone.  There are more and more commercials asking for donations to help some poor children or helpless animals.  And don’t forget all the commercials reminding us that the economy is bad.

And yet with my care free attitude towards politics I was mesmerized by the inauguration on Tuesday.  I am one of the many people that has high expectations for our new president.  I think he has so much to offer.  And I wasn’t a fan of his.  I thought he lacked experience.  He may lack experience but his eloquence distracts from that.  I think our new president has a long road ahead of him and it will be a tough climb, but I think he can persevere.  President Obama I wish you luck!


Leave a comment

Categories